AUD
Back to top
MENU
Bg

Indelible's Literary Oktoberfest 2021

Indelible October Events

Start Wed, Oct 06
End Wed, Oct 20

INDELIBLE EVENINGS

PRESENTS

Wednesday, October 6, 2021

9:00pm Dubai / 1:00pm EST /10:00am PST

“The Holy Grail of Detective Fiction”
with Susan Rowland, Grace Topping, and Connie Berry

REGISTER HERE

For award-winning authors Connie Berry and Grace Topping, as well as world renown literary scholar and mystery novelist Prof. Susan Rowland, the process of writing female detective novels has a "quest" vibe to it. It highlights the protagonists as heroines and shows how the detective genre may have some kind of "mission" to accomplish. Our notable guests will discuss the inspiration behind writing cozy/traditional mysteries, why and how these mysteries are written, what effect the process of writing them has on the author, and the heroines in their novels.

 

Wednesday, October 13, 2021

7:30pm Dubai / 11:30am EST / 8:30am PST

What the Sleuth: On Mystery Writing
with John Gaspard and Carol Pouliot

REGISTER HERE

How do the highly acclaimed novelists John Gaspard and Carol Pouliot write their unique mysteries, and how much research actually goes into their novels? What inspires their inclusion of magicians and paranormal elements in a work of detective fiction? And what are some of the things they wish they had known before they started? Gaspard and Pouliot will discuss their writing process, from the first spark of inspiration to the birth of their characters, as well as the awakening of the mystery writer in them—and whether or not we can actually judge a book by its cover.

 

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

7:00pm Dubai / 11:00am EST / 8:00am PST

The Versatility of Vampires
with Charlaine Harris and Catriona Miller

REGISTER HERE

How does pop culture approach vampires? One of the world’s most famous vampire novelist, Charlaine Harris, who is also the writer behind the popular TV series True Blood, will be in conversation with renown media scholar Dr. Catriona Miller about “the versatility of vampires” in today’s popular fiction and television series. From discussing Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse, Gunnie Rose, and Harper Connelly series, the discussion will focus on the following: Why are people drawn to the vampire genre? What psychological effects do vampire novels and movies have on people? What does this say about the readers?

POSTER